Log in

No account? Create an account

Dean Haspiel


1st July 2014

2:19pm: Dime Bag 4
 photo FirstThingsm_zps3e146090.jpg

I drew the original Thing from The Fantastic Four #1 for sale at an art show called Dime Bag 4, curated by Jordin Isip, opening Thursday, July 3rd, from 8-10pm at The End Is Near in Park Slope, Brooklyn. Other artists participating from Hang Dai Studios are Christa Cassano and Gregory Benton.

Details here:

Dime Bag 4
curated by Jordin Isip

Opening Reception: Thursday, July 3rd, 8:00-10:00pm

The End is Near
465 7th Ave.
Brooklyn, NY 11215
(Park Slope, btwn 16th and Windsor)

Each of the more than two hundred invited artists received a 3" x 3" plastic zip lock bag, a “dime bag” of sorts. They were asked to create their artwork for and installed within the bag. There was no overt conceptual theme to show beyond the device of the bag itself and each artist was free to interpret within these simple parameters.

Participating Artists:

Ian Adelman
Doug Aldrich
Selina Alko
Emma Apicelli
Jose Arenas
Jordan Awan
Scott Bakal
Franca Barone
George Bates
Melinda Beck
Polly Becker
Laura Bellmont
Gregory Benton
Jud Bergeron
Annette Berry
Adam Block
Angela Boatwright
Max Bode
Juliette Borda
Kelie Bowman
Claudia Brandenburg
Calef Brown
Iain Burke
Chris Buzelli
William Buzzell
Yone Caldwel
Christa Cassano
Anthony Castro
Brittany Keats Cerullo
Kristin Chae
Richard Ray Chan
Vincy Cheung
Clayton Brothers
Louie Cordero
Michael Coughlan
William Hatch Crosby
Anthony Cudahy
Leigh Cunningham
Daniel Davidson
Kristen Davis
Georganne Deen
Andrew Degraff
Eddie del Rosario
Jessica Deutsch
Dora Drimalas
Dima Drjuchin
Hannah Drossman
Joel Dugan
Chad Dziewior
Clarissa Eck
Morgan Elliot
Austin English
Kiersten Essenpreis
Evah Fan
Brian Faulk
Chris Feckzo
Daniel Fishel
Logan Fitzpatrick
David Flaherty
Mary Flanagan
Charlie Flexon
Brian Flynn
AJ Fosik
James Benjamin Franklin
John Freeborn
Sam Friedman
Linnéa Gad
James Gallagher
Jason Gandy
Brenda Garand
Becca Genne-Bacon
Jim Gentry
Susie Ghahremani
David Goldin
Johanna Goodman
Leah Gotchel
Jill Greenberg
Keith Greiman
Olivia Gulin
Pallavi Gupta
Matt Haber
Marcellus Hall
Joseph Hart
Dean Haspiel
Hunter Heckroth
Angus Hendry
Nash Hogan
Kenichi Hoshine
Jim Houser
Liz Hur
Alexander Iezzi
Chloe Isip
Jordin Isip
Mara Isip
Simone Isip
Nick Ito
Rich Jacobs
Masuko Jo
Chesiel John
Sylvia Jun
Lyejm Kallas-Lewis
Danielle Kassover
Amy S. Kauffman
Misaki Kawai
Billur Kazaz
Caitlin Keegan
Andy Kehoe
Trisha Keightley
Tim Kerr
Esther Sarah Kim
So Yoon Kim
Hiroshi Kimura
Hiro Kurata
Charlotte Larson
Hannah Lee
So Jin Lee
Rob Leecock
Matt Leines
Jodi Levine
Rachel Levit
Ian Lewandowski
Melissa Ling
Alex Lukas
Anthony Macbain
Rita MacDonald
Ashley Macomber
Jane Mai
Alex Maiorano
Alicia McCarthy
Margaret McCartney
Ted McGrath
Richard McGuire
Taylor McKimens
Tara McPherson
Sergio Luis Mesa
Bronwyn Minton
Jason Mitchell
Brendan Monroe
James Moore
Ron Mor
Kei Morita
Kris Mukai
Luisito Nazario
Keith Negley
Gregory Nemec
Danica Novgorodoff
Jieshan Ng
Jayeon Oh
Tim O'Brien
Brian O'Neill
Arlin Ortiz
Mu Pan
Chang Park
Helena Parriott
Maritsa Patrinos
Chelsey Pettyjohn
Jason Polan
Rachel Pontious
Jason Porter
Giselle Potter
Sean Qualls
Jeff Quinn
Monica Ramos
Brian Rea
Nicole Rifkin
Leslie Robertson
Olivia Robertson
Craig Rodriguez
Les Rogers
Matt Rota
Julia Rothman
Lea Rude
Victoria Salvador
Hazel Lee Santino
Kim Schifino
Anna Sea
Paula Searing
Yong Shin
Ruth Shively
Simone Shubuck
Andy Smenos
Ryan Jacob Smith
Jeff Soto
Kevin Jay Stanton
Meghann Stephenson
Rodger Stevens
Josie Stevenson
Katherine Streeter
Derek Stukuls
Adam Suerte
Stephanie Tan
Gary Taxali
Maximilian Thuemler
Mark Todd
Katie Turner
James Ulmer
Justin Valdes
Madeline Valentine
Nichole van Beek
Jennifer Van Meter
Jonathan Viner
Michela Vinton
Dominique Vitali
Roxie Vizcarra
Valeriya Volkova
Ryan Wallace
Esther Pearl Watson
Pinky Weber
Ellen Weinstein
Eric White
B Kristen Won
Courtney Wotherspoon
James Yang
Justin Yoon
Bill Zeman
Beth Zimmerman
Bill Zindel
Art Zomby
2:27pm: The Fox "Freak Magnet" graphic novel
 photo FMbooksm_zps1db1c6a8.jpg

In case you missed picking up the individual comic books from the 5-issue mini-series, THE FOX in "Freak Magnet" by me, Mark Waid, J.M.DeMatteis, Mike Cavallaro, Terry Austin, Allen Passalaqua + more, including a great introduction by Michael Allred, got collected into one sexy graphic novel! http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/2014/04/11/dean-haspiel-the-fox-comic-book-series/7600177/

Book description:
It's the fantastic debut of the high-flying Fox! Emmy Award winning writer/artist Dean Haspiel (Billy Dogma, HBO's Bored To Death) and Eisner Award-winning writer Mark Waid (Daredevil, Thrillbent) bring the legendary, pulp-style hero The Fox to life in Freak Magnet! When photojournalist Paul Patton, Jr. donned a superhero costume, he thought it would be a quick way to make some news—now the strange and unusual just can't help but be drawn to the freak-magnetism of the fabulous fighting Fox! Then, acclaimed writer J.M. DeMatteis (Abadazad, Justice League 3000) and Eisner Award-nominated artist Mike Cavallaro (Parade, Savior 28) take us back in time for an all-new story featuring the world's first patriotic superhero and leader of the New Crusaders, The Shield! What connection does the Shield's top-secret mission in the Arctic have to do with the Fox's diamond-studded adventure? And what ultra-powerful villains have arrived to wreak havoc?? Read on, dear reader—The Fox and the Shield have their work cut out for them!

This is what The Nerdist has to say:
"Equal parts Peter Parker and Lamont Cranston, The Fox, a.k.a. Paul Patten Jr., is a super-powered vigilante who is reluctantly thrust into the milieu of crime fighting by circumstance rather than by choice. Appropriately, the first collection of The Fox has been dubbed The Fox: Freak Magnet, a reference to Patten’s unique ability to attract the craziest, costumed kooks around, all of whom seem hellbent on killing him."

Powered by LiveJournal.com